Home : Complete Site List : Search : What's New? : Permission to Use : Contact Us

Portico of the Twelve Gods

< Prev | 12 of 21 | Next >
Portico of the Twelve Gods
Click Photo for Larger Version
Please read before you download

Images and/or text from holylandphotos.org are NOT TO BE USED ON OTHER WEB SITES, NOR COMMERCIALLY, without special permission. To request permission contact us at holylandphotos@gmail.com.

Photo Comments

View looking west at the west end of the west Forum.  In this image are the remains of the niches and columns of the Portico to the Twelve Gods—commonly known as Portico of the Dii Consentes.  The 7 marble columns on the left are original, while the 5 limestone ones in the distance were part of the A.D. 367 reconstruction.

In the niches, now covered with iron bars, were bronze statues of the 12 major Roman deities— Jupiter, Juno, Neptune, Minerva, Mars, Venus, Apollo, Diana, Mercury, Ceres, Vulcan, and Vesta.